University List
Sign In
Font Size
Special Colors
History Of College

From the roots of ancient tradition to the horizons of contemporary vision

History of the Faculty of Arts:

The College of Arts is one of the oldest colleges at Princess Nourah bint Abdul Rahman University. It was established in the year / 1399/1400 AH as one of the colleges affiliated to the General Presidency for Girls’ Education at that time, and there were six colleges in Riyadh. It is the nucleus of this lofty scientific edifice, as it has reached the age of (44) years of giving, and it still maintains its originality with its keenness on contemporary and renewal.

The College of Arts has gone through several stages of change and development, the most important of which are two:

The first stage: When the lofty declaration was issued during the reign of the Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques, King Abdullah - may God have mercy on him, on 04/18/1427 AH, merging the academic departments into three colleges, namely: the College of Education (literary departments), the College of Teachers Preparation with the College of Arts, to become one college under The umbrella of the Ministry of Higher Education, and the birth of the first university for girls in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia under the name (Riyadh University for Girls).

The second stage: When the Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques, King Abdullah bin Abdul Aziz - may God have mercy on him - gave the name of the founder’s sister, Princess Noura bint Abdul Rahman, to Riyadh University for Girls, by sponsoring the ceremony of laying the foundation stone for the building of Riyadh University for Girls on 10/29/1429 AH. Thus, it became the first university in the Kingdom to bear the name of a woman, and specialized only in educating girls in more than (15) scientific fields, including the College of Arts, which includes five educational departments: (Islamic Studies Department, Arabic Language Department, History Department, Geography Department, and libraries and information).

In the academic year 1441-1442 AH, two programs were developed: Tourist Guidance, Antiquities and Museums under the umbrella of the Department of History, and the Digital Journalism Program under the umbrella of the Arabic Language Department, so that the total educational programs in the college are (8) bachelor’s programs, and (6) master’s programs.

The college is still looking forward to developing qualitative, interdisciplinary and sub-programs in anticipation of the future and to meet the development needs.​